Skin Care in Pregnancy have you even thought that the products you are putting on your face is harming your baby? I know, I didn’t either!

It’s been drilled into us for the last couple of weeks, we should eat well in pregnancy, we should be a good human being by only putting the nice things into our bodies. Yes, I’ve had that speech from the Midwife too! But, there was one thing that everyone has failed to mention. There is some things in skin care that you are not meant to use during pregnancy. Some you can use after the 1st trimester, after the 2nd trimester, during the third trimester or they are safe to use all the way though.

This only crossed my mind the other day as recently I have an Outbreak and I need some face wash to clear it up. When I got home, I suddenly thought to myself…can I use this? That’s when I put in the research and found that some thing’s I am not meant to be using so straight in the bin they went.

Avoid the following during pregnancy (They should be listed in the Ingredients on the back)

  • Avage, Fabior, Tazorac (tazarotene), Avita (tretinoin), Differin (adapelene), Panretin(alitretinoin), Retin-A, Renova (tretinoin), Retinoic acid, Retinol
    Retinyl linoleate, Retinyl palmitate and Targretin gel (bexarotene).

Only use the following in Small Amounts:

  • Alpha hydroxy acid (AHA), Azelaic acid, Benzoyl peroxide, Beta hydroxy acids (BHA)
    Beta hydroxybutanoic acid, Betaine salicylate, Citric acid, Dicarbonous acid, Glycolic acid, Hydroacetic acid, Hydroxyacetic acid, Hydroxycaproic acid, Lactic acid. Salicylic acid, Trethocanic acid, Tropic acid and 2-hydroxyethanoic acid.

Considered to be low risk during Pregnancy:

  • Calcium thioglycolate (depilatory), Hydrolyzed soy protein (minimizer)
    Potassium thioglycolate (depilatory), Sanguisorba officinalis root extract (minimizer) and Sodium hydroxide (minimizer).

This is not a conclusive list of every thing that is considered to put your baby at risk during pregnancy. Make sure that you check everything that you are putting on your skin, such as creams or make up. Some of the ingredients that I have mentioned above have been directly linked to birth defects because of their use. Don’t panic if you have used a product with a harmful ingredient in, just discontinue use and find one that does not contain anything harmful. There should always be an alternative that is safe to use.

I hope you have enjoyed reading and you have learnt as much as I did writing.

Thank You,

Bambi x and Bump x

Leave a Reply

