I really don’t like vaccinations but we all gotta do it!

You may have been told by now, you may need some vaccinations during your pregnancy to protect both you and the baby from illness during pregnancy and after birth.

Because of the time in the year, that I fell pregnant it meant that I will have to have both of the vaccinations that they offer to pregnant women during pregnancy. YAY! I know that it’s best for my baby that I have the vaccinations but I really really hate having them done and faint every time so it’s not the best experience for me.

The first vaccination was the Flu Jab which is offered to all pregnant women because of the affect the Flu can have on you when you are pregnant. All the Flu Jab consists of is a small needle in the muscle in your upper arm. I believe that the Flu jab is only routinely offered in the winter months as we are more prone to getting the Flu in this time. But on the bright side, I haven’t been ill at all since I had the vaccination in December…every cloud eh?

The other vaccination is Whooping Cough vaccination and this is mainly for your unborn baby but you will get the booster vaccination at the same time to stop you getting Whooping Cough and passing it on to your child when they are both. The Whooping Cough vaccination will make Anti-Biodies which will then pass over the placenta and make your baby immune to getting Whooping Cough within the first 8 weeks of their life. At 8 weeks, you will have to take them to get a booster again to top it up. You can have the vaccination after 20 weeks once you’ve had your scan but ideally you should have the vaccine between 28-32 weeks pregnant. You can have as late as 38 weeks but you might not pass enough over the placenta in time and your baby may not be fully vaccination. But don’t worry if you are 38 weeks and haven’t had the vaccine. You can still have it and you will be immune which means you won’t be giving it to your child.

I am getting very close to have the Whooping Cough vaccine which I am not looking forward to but a girls gotta do, what a girls gotta do!

I am very interested in the different vaccines that are offered around the world so please comment below.

Thank You for Reading! 🙂

Bambi x and Bump x

Leave a Reply

