Ughhhhh Exercise!

Hellooo,

Well as most of you know by now, you need to exercise whilst you are pregnant. This will be something that your Midwife or Health Visitor told you at you booking appointment 8 weeks ago. I was told the same thing.

I have never been much of an exerciser. I’ve dabbled over the years but it is not something I’ve ever stuck at for longer than about 2 weeks. And since I’ve been pregnant, I haven’t done much either. I have tried a few times but I can’t seem to make it a part of my routine.

The NHS recommend that we exercise for about 30 minutes per day whilst pregnant. It has also been proven to have health benefits too such as a quicker active labour and quicker recovery time.

Since, I am completely unfit I read that I could work my way up the 30 minutes per day. So this is what I decided to do, slowly working my way up to being this super human that can do everything. Alas, it didn’t work. I started off okay, I did two days in a row. I started with the Exercise Bike, doing ten minutes and then fifteen minutes the day after. The day after that I was meant to go up to 20 minutes but I forgot to do it when I was free so I said to myself that I would do my 20 minutes the next day…never happened. Here I am now, 2 weeks later never having done 20 minutes a day on the Exercise Bike.

I know all the professionals recommend 30 minutes a day for 5 days with 2 days rest. But for people like me who have never done any exercise before. I just don’t think it is possible to expect people to rearrange their routine when they are growing another women. I’ll continue to try to do more exercise but I am not going to get stressed out if I don’t meet the guidelines that they set. At the end of the day, my body is already doing something amazing already and I am not going to put it under stress to get fit whilst it is doing so.

Thank You all for reading. See You Tomorrow!

Bambi x and Bump x

Leave a Reply

