Like many of you, I have dyed my hair for years. After being many different colours over the years, I have stuck with blonde as it suits more than anyother colour I’ve had.

A few months before I found out that I was pregnant, I spent a lot of money dying my hair from dark brown to light blonde. It took me ages and since I have been pregnant I haven’t dyed my hair. Mainly because I was unsure if I could dye my hair blonde whilst pregnant. I decided to look into it because I asked around and no-one appeared to know the answer. All I found out from speaking to people was if you are haing your hair done in a salon, make sure you are in a well ventilated area.

Pregnant women can dye their hair in pregnancy with no ill affect to the baby. However, I have found out that you should avoid anything with amonia in as this can harm your baby. But research has shown that hair dye in not highly toxic in pregnancy. It is not recommended that you dye your hair in the first 12 weeks of pregnancy. Also be careful, since you may have a different response to hair dye now you are pregnant.

If you are concerned that there is a big risk, there are somethings that you can do to put your mind at ease;

  • wear gloves
  • leave the dye on for the minimum time
  • work in a well-ventilated room
  • rinse your scalp once the dye is applied

You could always use Vegatable Dye if you are worried as this is a safe alternative.

Nail Varnish is also safe to use during pregnancy and it is similar to Hair Dye it is not deemed to highly toxic. If you are only painting your own nails, you will not be exposed for a long time. However, if this is your job, you could ask someone else to take over this part as you will exposed for a longer period of time. However, Dibutyl phthalate is included in most high street brands of Nail Polish and there is some thoughts that the fumes could affect the baby. However, no research has been done to prove this.

Bambi x and Bump x

Leave a Reply

