Helllooooo, 

I have received a few messages asking how I battled with Morning Sickness during the first trimester. I can only reflect on my own experiences and if some of the things I did work for you too, great but if they don’t you have lost anything. 

Firstly, find out what triggers your morning sickness. This may sound silly but some things like smells in your every day life may be the cause. For me, my trigger was the smell of reheated food. I honestly could not stand it. Since my partner was working nights before I go pregnant, we had formed a routine. I would cook a evening dinner and when he got back in the morning, I would reheat it. That worked really well till I got pregnant. I honestly dont think I have bleached a kitchen sink more times in a week.

Secondly, invest in a few packets of Ginger Nuts. I think in Sainsburys, you can get a pack for 40p. But seriously, they were a lifesaver! Sometimes during the day, I would feel sick and nothing would get rid of it. However, if I ate a Ginger Nut or two I would feel 100x better. I have heard that anything with ginger in and rich tea can also battle it too.

Thirdly, try not to skip meals. I found that was the worse thing that I could do. I wouldn’t want to eat because I felt so poorly but then I felt worse because I was hungry too. It was like a vicious circle. If you feel sick at meal times, I found that if I had some dry toast (without butter) it would make me feel a little better.

Foruthly, do not drink milk on an empty stomach in the mornings. I learnt sometime a few weeks ago. Milk curdles once it hits your stomach and when you have morning sickness, it only makes you feel worse. And yes, you will more than likely see that milk again. If you are like me and try to be healthy, try some orange juice instead of milk as your first drink of the day.

Finally, drink plenty of water. I always make sure that I have at least a bottle of water near me. If you keep yourself hydrated, you will more than likely be able to get though this trimester with little pain and anguish!

Thank you so so so much for reading and I really hope that some thing in this blog helps you with your morning sickness. If you’ve got a tip that you would like to share with everyone, please feel free to comment it below.

Until next time,

Bambi x 

Leave a Reply

